Categories
Personal Rantings

It’s Weird…

 

Image result for never grow up peter panAs I get older, the busier my life becomes. Don’t grow up kids, it’s a trap!

It’s weird because when I was younger, I wanted to be older. A contradictory sentence, yes, but bear with me.

What I meant by that was I wanted to mingle with adults since they looked like they knew what they were doing. They looked like they had their life sorted and you’ll always get this one aunt or uncle who keeps asking you: “So, what do you want to be when you’re older?” Your answer may be as common as a doctor or it could be something unique such as an English-teaching ninja (they exist somewhere). Either way, just talking about growing up used to excite me. How wrong was I to think that adults have their life sorted!

Now, looking back I regret it. I don’t regret being who I am, but I regret the fact that I rushed the process. I never really enjoyed the moment and the journey of growing up. Yes, there were times where it was difficult, but when looking back, where they really that bad? The answer could go either way. Yes, since a few upsetting memories still stay with me and no, because my worries and priorities are now completely different to when I was younger. Looking back to when I was a child, I missed the moments where every break time, I would be excited to go outside and play in the playground. Even though I didn’t have a lot of friends, I liked my own company. I didn’t savour the moments where I was too busy having fun, that I didn’t care about what people thought of me.

Then, I grew up. Now, other people’s words and what they think of me affects me. I guess, in order to restore the sanity in my life again, I’ll have to go back to being the innocent young, child that had no worries (apart from which chocolate bar to choose).

“The hardest part of growing up is letting go of what you were used to and moving on with something you’re not.”

 

 

By anewchapter

Someone who just wants to express her feelings

18 replies on “It’s Weird…”

Being an adult isn’t fun always, but you also can do so much more than when you were a child. I don’t have a lot of happy memories from my childhood. It wasn’t that bad, but still I am quite okay with not being a child anymore.
I’ve grown a lot and also my confidence has grown a lot. 10 year old me was a very shy kid with no friends 😦

Liked by 1 person

Adult life is not fun (I’m only 17, but I’m reaching that point) but I get what you’re saying. It’s the same with me as well, I wasn’t very confident and my confidence has increased a lot. It’s still lacking but it’s getting better. Tell 10 year old self that I’ll be your friend 🙂

Liked by 1 person

Aww I wish I could tell my 10 year old self that she has a friend she hasn’t met yet ^^
Sometimes I wish I could just not have obligations, like I wish I wouldn’t have to pay rent and get a job and do homework, but on the other hand, if I were to just watch movies and play around all day I would be bored all the time

Liked by 1 person

Aww, do! I get that as well. Being older does have it’s benefits but I guess what my post is trying to get across is that sometimes we forget the fact being young isn’t a bad thing. Sometimes, it’s good to be a child again.

Liked by 1 person

omg when i was a child i saw all these beautiful teenagers and i was like “im so gonna be like that when im older” and then i saw jobs i wanted to do and was like “ill totes do that” like it was that simple. No qualifications necessary. XD When you’re young, you’re free to dream. I loved being a child; dreaming, making up stuff. As you get older, boundaries get put in place, restrictions — of course you get them when you’re young, but you don’t think anything of them. When you’re older, the boundaries are life-defining. You can only do this if you get this etc etc. When you’re a kid, the boundaries are for your safety. When you’re an adult, they’re just there to restrict you from fulfilling your dreams. It’s kinda crushing. xD

Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment